because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

[Un]Happiness And The [Start] Of The Working Week

with one comment

Sitting at work during the 10-minute internet break I’m giving myself for working super hard for an hour and a half (despite the horror start to the day), and find this gem from Put Things Off in my Google Reader.

Despite all the obvious warnings, like the cubicle stress that ends in Godzilla-style office rampages, all of this is somehow considered normal. Commuting is a fact of life, isn’t it? Or perhaps, like me, you find a dark humour in wasting our lives by physically travelling to work in the Internet age. If it wasn’t so sad it might be funny.

It was pouring with rain this morning. After the thunderstorms last night, the clouds apparently had a few more dams-full to squeeze out. The traffic was horrendous. A 10-minute drive (which I would normally catch the bus for, since petrol is nearing $1.65/L this week) took over 3 times as long. On the walk from the car park to my office, my beautiful bespoke-tailored-for-super-cheap-in-Vietnam pants got so soaked that I probably don’t need to worry about finding time to get them to the dry-cleaners this week — they are ruined.

On days like this, if I was able to work from home, Monday-itis would be a LOT easier to deal with.

Great article, Nick.

read more | digg story

Written by Sunili

9 June 2008 at 10:11 am

Posted in work

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks, Sunili. It was a fun one to write. Agree with you about Mondays — I’m not saying they’re a joy from home either, but they’re certainly a lot easier!

    Nick Cernis

    9 June 2008 at 3:54 pm


Leave a Reply

