because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

Taking the PTO Book Challenge

leave a comment »

One of my fave blogs to read when I am procrastinating is called Put Things Off.  It’s written by a funny Pommy chap called Nick (but all people from England are funny, aren’t they?) and it’s fabulous because it’s called “Put Things Off” but it’s really about productivity — and I enjoy the irony and also that I can justify not doing work because I’m actually learning something.  Plus the blog’s mascot is a fricking cute kitten with a ball of wool, and I fricking love kittens.

As previously mentioned, I am totally struggling with the book-reading thing at the moment, but even though I joined Goodreads and stuff a while ago (there’s a link on the right there if you care to have a look), I have just not been able to get on track with plowing though my Books To Read Pile. Actually, now I have two piles, neatly separated in to Fiction and Non-Fiction (although I’m sure you will all be glad to know that unlike the Fiction and Non-Fiction shevles in my book case, the piles are not alphabetized. Sheesh, I’m not THAT much of a geek). But now that I’m looking at my To Read list on Goodreads, I see that none of these books are even in my To Read Pile, so this is troubling.PTO Book Challenge

However, PTO Nick has set up a reading challenge, and while I’m not game enough to take up the City to Surf challenge with Jules and everyone, because hello, I don’t do exercise, unless it involves shopping, this challenge looks like it will suit my not-so-active lifestyle much better.

I would really like to be able to get though my To Read Pile(s) because I have actually set myself a little rule that I am not allowed to buy any more books until I read the ones I already have. Granted, I won’t (and have not) let that rule get in the way of exercising ye olde Marstercard Debit, as demonstrated by my excursion to Borders at lunch today which resulted in the purchase of two shiny new magazines. But still. There are some books I wanted to buy, too. So I was good.

There are no pressing commitments this week so I plan to actually get right on top of this challenge by at least finishing Princess Diaries #9, which I have STILL not read even though I bought it two days after we got back from holidays.

Oh no wait. Get Smart comes out tomorrow and there’s that End Of Financial Year do on Friday. Gah, that means I need to finish PD9 tonight. Better snap to it!!!!!!!!

Written by Sunili

25 June 2008 at 6:14 pm

Posted in blogging

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

