because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

TWAT TWAT TWAT TWAT TWAT

with 7 comments

I wonder if the title will increase my hit count at all?

Anyhoo, Frank pointed out that Team TWOP were continuing their amusing chat on the WAToday post in regards to “Sooky la la Sattler”.

For those fair readers who don’t have time to read all the comments there, it is with pleasure that I summarize the story thus far…

Yesterday Howard Sattler posted yet another outdated diatribe, this time bemoaning the fact the Government are holding police and nurses at ransom over pay because Carps et al know they won’t strike:

Were they to do the unthinkable, society as we know it would collapse.
Crime would proliferate and hospital patients would die in their thousands.

Leaving aside those amazingly statistically-accurate predictions for now, it was essentially laughable that the post was entitled “Government takes advantage of honest coppers“. (No, I won’t link to it, you poor readers suffer enough reading this blog, I do not wish any further harm upon your intellect.)

A TWOP regular, Sir Skink, as I now like to call him, posted a comment asking Mr Sattler why he only referred to the “honest” boys in blue and failed to mention the ratty ones who stuffed up the Mallard, Mickelburg and such cases and are stuffing up the Rayney investigation (as previously noted on this blog).

Surprisingly, Howard responded:

Skink,

or should I call you skank?

Oh, ouch, what a clever witty comeback. This guy is not to messed with, children. Also, don’t be mean to him on the “honest copper” comment. Because it was all the sub-editor’s fault — Howard Sattler would never have deigned to draft his own title, unlike the rest of us plebs.

The above quote has been taken from memory — specifically, my memory — and it may not be completely accurate, because Skink’s comment and Howard’s response have since been deleted by Roy Fleming, the Managing Editor of WAToday.  Skink reproduces correspondence with Mr Fleming in a comment on TWOP.

I too have had corresponded with Mr Fleming in previous weeks (I wanted to know if they happened to have plans for their site to actually be any good), but sadly, all he did was invite me out to coffee. I wish I was important enough to be banned.

Apparently Sir Skink only ever intends to be “malicious in tone and content”, unlike Howard Sattler, a prominent and respected citizen of this bright State who has never racially vilified indigenous people and breached the Racial Discrimination Act 1975 (Cth) or anything. Not.

So until he’s sacked, I am just going to keep an eye on the happenings at http://howardsattlerisanidiot.wordpress.com/

Written by Sunili

27 June 2008 at 10:10 am

Posted in blogging, media, Perth, put downs/rants

Tagged with

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sunili,

    I’ve just found Howard’s old Perth Now Blog 🙂

    http://blogs.news.com.au/perthnow/sattlerfile/index.php

    Frank Calabrese

    27 June 2008 at 8:59 pm

  2. Carpenter Government In Crisis! Struggle Street!!

    Wow, not boring AT ALL, eh?

    Sunili

    28 June 2008 at 1:36 pm

  3. “Sir Skink” ?

    I am humbled

    I hold to my prediction that Sattler and some of the others will not last long – although if Fairfax journos go on strike it coudl all go a bit quiet over there.

    after reading the PerthNow stuff that Frank posted, I realize that chiselling away at Sattler is completely pointless – it’s the same stuff being repeated like a broken record with a six-month loop. The crap on his blog today is exactly the same as his 1997 and 1990 stuff about aboriginal youth.

    what I can never get my head round in this town is that no matter how many times a person fails, or gets voted out, or prosecuted, they keep coming back. Some horrible League of the Undead featuring Sattler, Murray, Burke, Bond, Crichton-Brown with Susanna Carr as the queen.

    skink

    2 July 2008 at 1:40 pm

  4. Indeed, Sir, you are quite exemplary!

    Fair call about the League of the Undead, too.

    But re TWAT… I just can’t believe “Thommo” made a jibe at TWOP today. First, isn’t he a Serious Journalist now, so why doesn’t he write about something newsworthy, and secondly… Hoo hoo, they really are riled, aren’t that? It’s so sad it’s funny.

    Sunili

    2 July 2008 at 2:24 pm

  5. Chris Thomson would hardly be called a serious journo – he joined TWAT from the Freo Herald.

    secondly – his brief there, apart from his day to day newsround chasing ambulances – is to write lighthearted fluff blogs about local stuff, and he was told to look at TWOP even before we started monstering their blogs.

    If you look at the Faifax blogs on the Brisbane Times you’ll see that the blogs are almost identical – they even have their own Shallow Spice over there doing sub-SATC stuff, except that she actually writes about sex, rather than the girly gigglesome stuff that Spice writes. Notice too that the language in Brisbane is a lot more colourful – are we prudes over here, or are the moderators at TWAT just a bit more cautious?

    skink

    2 July 2008 at 2:41 pm

  6. Ah, the Freo Herald. I miss getting the Herald now that I’m not living or going to uni down there. It was the only thing worthy of wrapping my teacup collection when I moved. The Subi Post is shit, so I dunno what I’ll do. Although I suppose it’s pretentious enough for a teacup collection.

    I was wondering about the moderation standards at TWAT following your ‘banning’…. The level of micro-managing for the whole thing is just embarrassing. Poor Roy. Bet he was chauffeured around in a Rolls in Dubai or wherever he was before.

    Sunili

    2 July 2008 at 2:49 pm

  7. Dubai? – no, Roy was in Brisbane I think, and sunny Illawarra

    http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/about-us/roy-fleming/index.html

    I have slowly been pushing the envelope with the TWAT moderation, and a few choice words have slipped through to the keeper

    skink

    2 July 2008 at 2:56 pm


Leave a Reply

