because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

New Financial Year Resolutions

with 4 comments

So I totally don’t get it why we have to have to have the “new” Financial Year starting in the MIDDLE of a regular year, but whatever. I suppose it gives me a second go to set up some of those silly resolutions about improving your life and what not.

I was on holiday this New Year, and I had no intention whatsoever of wasting time coming up with resolutions. Or maybe I did, but I if I did, I’ve forgotten them so let’s pretend they never existed.

SO.

I will use this arbitrary date to think about arbitrary life goals…

Goal One: Save Money

For what? I dunno. A house maybe? Although at current market rates, the word “house” may require a mention in an interpretation clause that refers to kennels in order for the phrase “save enough money to even think about a deposit for a house” to logically make sense.

I’d like to take a holiday somewhere nice … Melbourne particularly since there’re are a bunch of people I want to visit over there, but I don’t think there are any flights 😛

So we’ll leave the What for later and look at the How, shall we?

I could stop buying nice coffee; I could stop buying new clothes; I could stop going to the theatre; I could stop buying books and go to the library instead; blah blah blah.

That sounds horrible, doesn’t it?  Drinking Department-provided Nescafé, wearing the same boring suit every day, sitting at home reading books other people have probably taken to the loo with them.

FUN!!!!

Not.

I know, I know — frugality is the New Black, I should be totally more serious about this to save the world and the economy and stuff…

But the thing about black? It’s depressing.

So let’s scrap that and think of a new one…

Like…

Goal One: … … … ???

Nup.  I got nada.

A little help, guys?

Written by Sunili

1 July 2008 at 7:13 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Up until recently I worked in the Law Chambers Building on Hay Street – right on top of the Perth City Library. I loved catching the lift down to the Library and we went several years without buying many books – convenience was the key.

    And I’d rather have just one really really great cup of coffee a day, and pay for it, than have anything that came out of a tin/jar/sachet.

    My recommendation? Set up a secondary bank account, have your HR people direct some of your salary directly to that account – a small (less tempting) amount works best at first.

    Increase the amount going in slowly until you feel the pain on your lifestyle and hold it at that point.

    This will allow you to feel virtuous about saving and also ensure that you HAVE some savings.

    Until you decide you need that new Isomac Mondiale so that you can make your own coffee. . .

    Grendel

    2 July 2008 at 9:49 am

  2. Grendel offers great advice. You might also consider implementing that strategy when you get a raise, that way it won’t feel like you’re missing out on your regular pay.

    As for the books, have you heard of http://www.bookmooch.com? You can exchange books with other people. It might not solve bathroom readers problem but it’s a start right? lol.

    Hope you’re doing well!

    Cheers,
    Stephanie

    HeyStephanie

    5 July 2008 at 1:35 am

  3. You can tell by my portrait that coffee’s important to me but I agree with Grendel and in fact that’s what I did some years ago – forego all coffee bar one really nice cup a day (I was downing five or more crappy Maxwell House cups a day).
    And I choose to drink that coffee fully present – not on the run or getting ready for work or driving. Just sitting and sipping and maybe chatting or reading but making it a touchstone for being mindful – ironic for caffeine really.
    I decided to do the same thing with wine – no more half a bottle of chateau de pis every night, just one or two glasses of decent red wine. I’m not so mindful after that, mind.

    occidentprone

    5 July 2008 at 3:06 pm

  4. you could come to melbourne with meeeeeee 🙂

    i have a whopping £125 saved, though once i get my extra “anti-social hours pay,” i’ll be putting that into my australia fund.

    you’re right to pass over saving, it’s absolutely terrible. and hard when you’re bringing home £1290 a month, then you lose £420 to rent and £500 to student loans and bills, then you try to save £100 for a trip aaaand you’re left with practically nothing!

    i’m in my second year of resolving to do a split. will let you know when i succeed.

    laura

    8 July 2008 at 8:50 pm


Leave a Reply

