because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

[Movie Review] The X-Files: I Want to Believe

with 3 comments

Let me say at the outset: No, it wasn’t better than The Dark Knight.

But, as a self-confessed X-Phile (I adimitted to The Boyfriend last night that when I was 15 I used to have a fansite — on Geocities… ah the memories!!) … I FRICKING LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh Chris Charter, what a champ. This movie, as I mentioned in my tweet on the way out of the cinema, was gratuitous, self-indulgent fluff.  I am pretty sure if he wasn’t CHRIS CARTER and didn’t have his own production company, no dope in Hollywood would touch the script… but he made the movie for himself and like-minded fans, and for that I salute him 🙂

Teehee what jolly good fun!!

The Boyfriend says I owe him big-time for making him sit there (“That is two hours of my life I will never get back”, et cetera) but I submit that I totally said he didn’t have to see it with me since he had no idea what was going on.

Sqeeee! LOVED IT!

That is all 🙂

Written by Sunili

31 July 2008 at 7:32 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not even gonna say anything… Doh! Too late…

    Mac Choudhry

    31 July 2008 at 9:52 am

  2. 1. Thanks for the link – I’m up to A WHOLE SIX (!) now at Technorati!! You’ve joined my favourites!

    2. The funny thing about X-Files’ Gillan Anderson is that when I saw her on Parkinson a couple of years back she spoke with a British accent; apparently she spent some formative years there. Then I saw her on Letterman the other night in American voice mode. So…has she lost the British tone or does she just “fake it” for American audiences? A mystery. The truth is out there.

    Retarius

    31 July 2008 at 5:59 pm

  3. Anderson was doing TV and theatre work in the UK for several years after the X-files (BBC’s Bleak House and the excellent Tristram Shandy movie), so her accent wanders. if you think of the number of non-Americans currently in top line movies and TV (Christian Bale, heath Ledger, Tom Wilkinson, Charlize Theron, Kate Beckinsale, Cate Blanchett, Hugh Laurie, Damian Lewis, James MacAvoy, Anthony LaPaglia blah blah) – it’s not much of a stretch for an actor to do the accent

    skink

    1 August 2008 at 10:41 am


Leave a Reply

