because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

happy birthday to me!

with 4 comments

Aw, I’ve had a lovely day with lots of lovely Fb Wall messages and emails and texts. Aw! Yay!  Matt got me the most wonderful present — three lovely photos from our South East Asian Holiday Extravaganza mounted and framed.  What a thoughtful and wonderful grown-up present! (Since I am totally old now.)  My fave photo is this probably one, which I took while we were floating down a river in North Thailand on a bamboo raft… aw… heaven.

Now, I found this cool new Perth blogger via a post on the Fifty Most Influential ‘Female’ Bloggers (she’s FROM PERTH and is on this list! How sweet is that?) and she does this monthly personal goals thing, which is probably a bit too boring for me to bother doing here, but I was inspired to take this whole birthday thing as an opportunity to think about what I hope to achieve in the next year or whatever.

(Whoa long sentence.)

So here are my Birthday Goals

Goal One: Work on long sentences. Seriously. (Good.)

Goal Two: Save money to pay off my HELP debt (thanks to Grendel’s super-helpful payroll-to-savings-account method!) before I finish up at this job (Feb 2009) and then keep going to save up for shed or something similar to call my own.

Goal Three: Quit with the procrastinating already. (Maybe tomorrow.)

Goal Four: Start looking at the bright side of life occasionally — CHECK I did it yesterday. That’ll do.

Goal Five: Be more active in community service-y stuff, rather than thinking about it here and there.

This will probably involve me picking something, and I totally suck at making decisions, so I would love to hear about any community service things you do, and why.  That would really help me I can think about what really matters and what I should get properly involved in. (Look! I made that big long sentence into two shorter ones! YES! I ROCK AT GOALS!)

Goal Six: Be good about going to the gym (at least 3 times a week). First, I should because my darling Mamma is paying for my membership at aforementioned fancy gym (via monthly credit card deposit — I call it “the gift that keeps on taking”).  Secondly, it is good for me mentally and physically and stuff.

I think six will do.  It’s the 6th and all so that’s nice and appropriate, and I don’t want to be too ambitious with too many goals.  Plus I am bored. (Yeah, bored with the blogging break I took from doing work that was boring. Go me! Oh no wait it’s time to go to my Birthday drinkies!! YAY!!)

Ciaociao x

Written by Sunili

6 August 2008 at 5:26 pm

Posted in me stuff

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy birthday!

    You are now old enough to join my in procrastinators anonymous.

    (he says as he contemplates the assignment open on the MSword tab under this firefox window. . . )

    grendel

    6 August 2008 at 8:04 pm

  2. I tried commenting on this earlier but it disappeared before my very rss! O:

    Anyway, happy birthday, and good luck with your list (:

    toothsoup

    6 August 2008 at 8:48 pm

  3. Happy, happy birthday!

    Nice goals. 🙂

    Catie

    7 August 2008 at 12:05 am

  4. […] joined the Australian Youth Climate Change Coalition. (Starting on Goal # 5! But I haven’t had time to actually do anything since joining, but I’m working on […]


Leave a Reply

