because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

Beijingo: logic not essential

leave a comment »

Apparently, it’s just who you are and where you’re from that determines what you know.

Everybody in China knows that Tibet is an inalienable part of the territory of China. I see actually most of the people in these demonstrations are non-Chinese. So I would conclude they don’t really know very much about the situation.” — Olympic organisers condemning pro-Tibet activists (via ABC)

Uhhhhhhh. They clearly have lots of people enrolled in reasoning courses over there.

I am happy to accept the fact that the five activists detained for hanging up a pro-Tibet poster today are not Chinese. (They were Americans, Britons and Australia-Canadians, if anyone was wondering.) But can someone please explain this to me: how exactly does that alone lead to the conclusion that they don’t know much about the situation?

Um… Has anyone asked a Tibetan person about how they feel?

I encourage you all to check out the beijingwideopen blog, where Lhadon Thethong, Exec Director of Students for A Free Tibet talks about the issue:

I’ve traveled to the heart of the nation that has brutally occupied my homeland for over 50 years. Follow this blog, as I share what I see, feel, and experience… leaving Beijing wide open.

Written by Sunili

15 August 2008 at 7:36 pm

Posted in politics, social justice

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

