because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

rejection

with 9 comments

I got my rejection letter for Thing last night.

They sent back all the material I had to submit and BLOODY FOLDED MY TRANSCRIPT which is totally rude.

Anyway, I cried, which is normal which I cry at lots of things (most recently this DVD — yeah, lame) and then I got really, really angry.

In fairness I wasn’t expecting to get it, but I am just totally shocked that I didn’t even get an interview.  I know this probably seems a little arrogant, but I honestly felt that I was a good candidate.  So did M, but I guess he has to think that, but so did the person who got it last year, who swore lots in reply to my Fb message passing on the bad news.

I remember randomly seeing an article about some book some woman’s written about Kids These Days having been brought up on an overdose of self-esteem, but I really, truly thought I’d be a shoe-in for at least a bloody INTERVIEW.

Sheesh.

I kept randomly wanting to hit things/cry all day but I am also telling myself it doesn’t even matter, because it totally doesn’t and I was actually just waiting to hear I didn’t get it so that I can get on with thinking about the rest of my life.

There’s this part of me that wants to start analysing everything to figure out why so that I can rationalise my anger/be better for the next thing I apply for, but then again, I realise all the other things I HAVE succeeded in already.

Which then I realise is totally proof that I am AWESOME and SHOULD HAVE AT LEAST GOT AN INTERVIEW, AM-I-RIGHT??

Humph.

Anyway. Not thinking about it any more right now. I am going to look at Yes We Can (hold babies) and watch the next episode of The Wire (season 1).

Now. Were are the mutha-funking Tim Tams? And I think I will really be needing that Genie that refills them, too.

Written by Sunili

8 October 2008 at 5:53 pm

Posted in me stuff

Tagged with , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 😦

    You so totally should have got an interview.

    Also, The Wire! Awesome.

    Robert

    8 October 2008 at 7:13 pm

  2. Pardon my opening up a raw wound with typical generation X ignorance. . .

    But what the hell is ‘Thing’?

    Grendel

    8 October 2008 at 8:59 pm

  3. Sunili, for what it is worth, I think you’re awesome. For whatever reason your awesomeness just didn’t best fit Thing’s awesome box right now. No reflection on your awesomeness, just your ability to fit-in-a-box.

    From what I know of you, you have already done fabulous and awesome things and you will continue to do fabulous and awesome things outside the box. Some of us work better that way anyway.

    Personally I think one of the best proofs of awesomeness is the way we deal with no-Things. Anyone can be awesome with a yes but it takes a better person to be awesome after a no.

    So lift your head up high, eat some tim tams (tip: the honeycomb crush ones are rather good), buy some shoes (it never hurts) and move on to the next Thing.

    Besides, with no disrespect to Thing, anyone who folds a transcript can only be a sadistic noodle.

    Rachel

    9 October 2008 at 3:53 am

  4. have you considered lying face down on the carpet, pounding the floor, and screaming until you make yourself vomit?

    failing that, I have found that a large gin with a codeine chaser works wonders.

    skink

    9 October 2008 at 1:19 pm

  5. Wow! The Wire!! I thought I was the only person in Australia who knew it existed. You must be a person of most exquisite taste and refinement. (I also know now where you get all that ghetto-swearing!)

    Tough one about the interview; I’m not sure where you’re at now – I missed a few episodes of your life.(I’ll have to go back and read all of your posts…That should do for my Internet time for a few days.) I thought you were at WA Ministry of Justice?
    Anyway, you ain’t lived till you’ve been gut-kicked by a few selection panels. It teaches you not to give a damn about them and that’s the first step on the path to successfully conning them – I mean persuading them of your value to their team, of course.

    I saw your post about the Pinstripe Prison and I’m going to read it. If you’d like to see the other side of the coin, I recommend “Nickel and Dimed” by Barbara Ehrenreich.

    About Sarah (Moose-hater) Palin: I prefer Michael Palin’s comedy any day. A good stunt would be a guy in a moose suit waving an Obama-Biden placard at her next appearance.

    Retarius

    9 October 2008 at 3:25 pm

  6. Ghetto-swearing? Sheeeeeit, Clay Davis is not from the ghetto. Neither are Bunk and McNulty, who have the swearingest scene in the whole five seasons!

    Trading Stories

    9 October 2008 at 5:54 pm

  7. I have a MASSIVE crush on McNulty. Trading Stories, are you talking about where he and Bunk go the figure out whether “D” killed that girl in the nice part of town, through the window? That scene may have the best dialogue in television history.

    I seriously worry about my brother after watching the first half of the season though. That bit where D gets dressed and has 5 boxes of Timbalands? OMFG. That could be my brother (who thinks he is a Brother).

    Rob: BEST recommendation ever. I will be acquiring Mad Men in a swap with Dexter sometime next week.

    Many thanks to the rest of you for all your nice words! Mwah!

    Sunili

    10 October 2008 at 3:54 pm

  8. Sheeeeeeeeeit.

    Fuckity fuck.

    You should have a look for the little prequel videos that HBO put on their website when the Season 4 DVD was released. Things like how Bunk and Jimmy met, how Omar became Omar. Nice.

    Trading Stories

    11 October 2008 at 7:46 am

  9. Yay, Mad Men!

    Also, you need to track down This Life, the British 90s series about a group of young lawyers. That was awesome.

    Robert

    11 October 2008 at 7:47 am


Leave a Reply

