because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

the world gets a little more blind

with 2 comments

I doubt Ghandi got much wrong in his time. And I reckon the great man was pretty right when he said:

An eye for an eye, and soon the whole world is blind.

Retributive justice is a pretty full-on topic, and I won’t go into much more detail than to say that when I read about last night’s execution of the Bali bombers, I was incredibly disheartened.

People might say that this finally brings an end to the 2002 tragedy, but I wonder if maybe we might have had an end long before now had they merely been given a life sentence and left to rot in jail without the circus of the appeals and now this.

Frankly, this makes it worse. They are now officially martyrs, and who knows how that will be used by their supporters?

This makes me very sad. That is all.

Written by Sunili

9 November 2008 at 11:58 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It should be spelt “Gandhi”.

    Aussie Tourist

    9 November 2008 at 9:55 pm

  2. And so it should, Aussie Tourist, so it should. Thanks such an important contribution to the conversation I started while still upset and disgusted at the turn of events that was the execution of three men who killed so many and have vowed to have even more deaths connected to them.

    Sunili

    10 November 2008 at 9:06 am


Leave a Reply

