because I said so

telling it like I think it is: sunili’s blog

Working it out

with 2 comments

In a massive turn of geekism, I have decided to start planning my New Year’s Resolutions already. At this stage, 2009 is going to be full of win.

Still planning, of course, but so far I’m thinking:

  • buy an apartment
  • run (and I mean, like, RUN) the City to Surf
  • win the [yet to be established] Pulitzer Prize in Blogging.

What do you think, team?

And, in an effort to get off to a running start (there is a pun there, too, just wait for it…) I started the “run 3 times a week” goal YESTERDAY.

I did the first session of DJ Steveboy’s Podrunner: Intervals First Day to 5K — a 10-week interval-training program that gets progressivly hardcore as the weeks go by.

The tempo of the music changes with a kinda comical hooter noise to tell you it’s time to speed up/slow down to guide you through the run, and I think I did alright for the first go!  I fast-walked and jogged on the treadmill with it pumping out my iPod nano for 30 mins and did nearly 3k! Hurrah!

I also signed up at http://www.gyminee.com/ but I do wonder how long I will stick with updating that. It is much prettier than the last social-fitness thing I played with (can’t remember the name) so that will help me be motivated to log on.  If anyone else is on there and wants to be a GymBuddy, let me know.

Written by Sunili

16 December 2008 at 12:24 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good onya for starting running. I intend to take full credit if it puts a smile on your face.

    if you need a running buddy when you get out on the streets, let me know.

    can’t help with the apartment though. new year will be a good time to buy once all those annoying twats who leveraged themselves into large property portfolios lose their jobs.

    I enjoyed your recent TWOP posting. I never knew you had such a potty mouth.

    skink

    17 December 2008 at 2:05 pm

  2. Ahhh.. i wanted to run too, but I’m sooooo lazy. My goal next year is to run from my apartment to the ocean (about 12 miles). But I don’t want to make a new years resolution… I never keep those. Maybe I’ll make a death threat to myself… wait, no.. that’s suicidal. Bah… i’m tired from thinking about it. I’ll just go buy some cool running gear instead.

    Sam

    18 December 2008 at 5:43 pm


Leave a comment